There’s so much more to crafting than just…. well, crafting.


made-soulful copy
Create Something that Speaks to You

Hello AFCI Community!

Anna_500x500I’m so excited about this opportunity to share my Made Soulful blog and personal story with you! Let me introduce myself 😊 My name is Anna Teal and I’m a southern native who finds joy in anything creative. My crafting obsession started when I was young. From mixing and matching color palettes, to sketching a high fashion wardrobe, to attending craft fairs with my mother, I knew creativity would be a major part of my life. As an adult, my journey brought me to a career in crafts. I now work with many big names in the craft industry, such as Plaid, Martha Stewart, and Waverly. When I’m not producing and managing content at Plaid, which is my full-time gig, I enjoy thinking of new ways to inspire readers through organic, real life crafting solutions and advice. Whether it’s up-cycling furniture or creating unique home decor pieces to share with my readers, I feel truly blessed to do what I love every day.

Speaking of the everyday, my Made Soulful blog developed out of my desire to inspire and teach others that they don’t have to settle for empty, run-of-the-mill home decor. Too often, I found myself in stores, like Home Goods, Ross, World Market, and various other retail stores, where I saw pieces I liked, but I didn’t love or I found myself thinking, “Wow, I can totally make that for less.” I’m a huge advocate of curating meaningful items to fill your home. These items should inspire you daily and speak to your soul (Hence, my blog name, Made Soulful). For example, I just finished up a sign for my kitchen, which you can see below, that says, “Happiness is Cherry Pie.” This type of thing is typically difficult to find in stores and this phrase carries special meaning to me.

AFCI_CherryPie4

In addition to being a craft DIYer, I’m also a pie maker. I got into making pies after my grandmother passed a few years ago. I have so many fond memories of her and I making pies together. So, I thought I would carry on the pie making legacy. It’s been a great experience for me and my family to remember those we love and to create new memories together.

AFCI_CherryPie5

Cherry pies hold a special place in my heart because it’s my husband’s and father’s favorite dessert. It’s the best feeling in the world to see the pure joy on their faces when I present them with a homemade cherry pie! So, I created a sign to adorn my kitchen to evoke this happy emotion every time I look at it. This example is the core of what I believe when it comes to DIY experiences. Surround yourself with things that represent who you are, what you love, and have fun in the process 😊

AFCI_CherryPie2

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my Made Soulful journey! I’m so thrilled to be a part of the AFCI community! I’m looking forward to building new relationships, making new friends, and growing my business in the craft and hobby industry.

If you’d like to learn more about how to create something that speaks to you, please follow me on my blog: www.madesoulful.com and any of my social channels listed below!

I: www.instagram.com/madesoulful
F: www.facebook.com/madesoulful
T: www.twitter.com/madesoulful

Learn more about membership with AFCI here.

Leave a Reply

