Creativation Wrap Up


This is a guest post by Angie Holden, The Country Chic Cottage.

Did you attend the Creativation show in Phoenix this year? I explored the show floor all three days to bring you a fabulous wrap up of the events. My name is Angie and I blog at The Country Chic Cottage about crafts, DIY, home décor, and even recipes. I have attended the CHA show for several years and was excited for this year with all of the changes. The first change was that the show moved to sunny Phoenix. Or they say it is usually sunny…

cha2017-002

For most of the show, it was cloudy and even raining! That did not seem to dampen the spirits of the attendees this year however. I thought the show had an amazing energy and vibe this year. I really felt it was the best show I have ever been to!

cha2017-001

Maybe the announcement during the show of the name change from the Craft and Hobby Association (CHA) to the Association for Creative Industries (AFCI) had everyone charged with excitement. Perhaps the amazing booths just jump started their creativity. After all, a walk on the show floor is sometimes all you need to inspire an entire year’s worth of creative projects. The following snap shots are from DCWV and Rustoleum.I loved the colorful message in both of those booths and just had to get a picture of them.

cha-collage-2

If you did not get a chance to visit the bakery on the show floor, you really missed out! I loved seeing all of the edible art and sampling the best fondant on the planet, Satin Ice.

cha2017-005

Scotty also made an appearance on the show floor. Scotty is the traveling mobile studio for Eileen Hull. She travels around the United States sharing her creativity and designs with Sizzix and Clearsnap.

cha2017-018

Didn’t attend Creativation this year and want a tour of Scotty? I found it empty one day and did a Facebook Live with a little tour just for you! Watch below!

 

The Innovations Center held 25 groundbreaking ideas and products. Each one had a display where you could chat with the inventors and even complete a make and take in some instances. The Ultimate Pitch contest was also held on Monday and five innovations pitched for the chance to win $10,000! I really enjoyed exploring the area and learning about some of these innovative ideas.

cha-collage-7

The star of the show however is always the products in the booths. I picked just a few of the products that were featured this year. These are all things that stood out for me on the show floor or overall trends that I saw when exploring the booths. I will start in the Pulsar booth just because I fell in love with this backdrop. They are bringing cross stitch back in a really creative way and I love it!

cha2017-009

I am still in love with the Deco-Foil from Thermoweb! It is not new however they have some new colors this year and it is still a hot product judging by the crowd at their booth!

cha2017-029

I was happy to see tons of organization products on the show floor. I love pretty organization for my craft supplies so each of these booths made my heart pitter patter. The following pictures are from Deflecto and Crate Paper.

cha-collage-5

Big chunky knitted blankets are all over my Instagram feed so I was drawn into the display for the WOW yarn from Lion Brand. Just look at that scarf! So amazing!

cha-collage-6

The lover of farmhouse style in me found a home in several booths on the show floor. From rustic galvanized metal to gorgeous wood finishes, there were booths that made me want to load up my shopping cart! The following pictures are from Walnut Hollow and Jillibean Soup

cha-collage-9

There was plenty of eye candy for the DIY lover as well just in case you thought that there were only craft products represented. I saw appliance painting kits and industrial sized glue guns. The following images were from Adtech where I loved testing out that caulk gun!

cha-collage-4

Need to create a mold for some casting? There were a couple of new products that I can’t wait to get my hands on! The first is ComposiMold which is a reusable product that you can remelt to create molds over and over again. The second is FastCast from ETI that sets in just 10 minutes!

cha-collage-3

Everywhere you turn there were succulents and cacti! The following are from Darice, Pulsar, Spellbinders, and Sizzix.

cha-collage-10

If the show floor is any indication, the adult coloring trend is here to stay! I am sure I missed some of the booths as there were just so many products geared towards the trend. Shirts, pillows, ceramics, embroidery, Vera Bradley coloring books, cards, canvases, and more! There are even erasable markers from MultiCraft.

cha-collage-11

A trend that seems to be climbing is fairy gardens. There were displays at Darice, Midwest Design Imports, and Plaid that were amazing.

cha-collage

You can get up close and personal with the Darice display in my Facebook Live video below!

 

The new exhibitors area is always full of great finds for me. I loved the Threads inkjet printable fabric! It was so soft right out of the printer and machine washable. Amazing! The Photomatic app seemed to be the talk of the show and I just had to try it out for myself. Another area of the floor that seemed to be busy was the MakerSpace where there were demos and classes each day. I hung out there on Saturday and admired the 3D printers.

cha-collage-8

Since each person seems to be drawn to different things on the show floor, I thought it would be fun to include a couple of wrap up videos from a few other bloggers that attended. First up is Carolina Moore with 30 Minute Crafts and Always Expect Moore. She also was part of the pair that won the Fashion Fusion challenge. On Sunday night, she showed off her look in an amazing fashion show!

cha2017-026

Watch Carolina’s tour video for Creativation 2017 below.

 

Jessica Hill with Mad in Crafts was a first time attendee so I thought it would be fun to include her perspective as well. Here are her thoughts on all three days of activity on the show floor.

 

Overall the Creativation show was a huge success in my book! I am now busy following up with contacts that I made and crafting with the new products that are hitting the market. I can’t wait until 2018! Will you be there?

One thought on “Creativation Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

