Top 3 Trends from Creativation 2017


This is a guest post by Amber Gerstel, Damask Love.

damask1.jpg

Did you make it Creativation? Or did you stay home this year, and watch closely as social media kept you up to date? Either way, I’m here to bring you up to speed on some of the trends I spotted while walking the Creativation Show floor.

Before we dive in, I guess I should introduce myself! I’m Amber and you can find me blogging the day away on Damask Love. You can also catch me on the Home Shopping Channel where I sell all sorts of tempting, crafty goodies.

The 2017 Creativation Show was filled with unbelievable amounts of innovation and creativity, but as I walked around, there were a few trends and themes that kept popping up – so that’s what I’m here to bring you! The Top Three Trends of Creativation 2017. Here we go!

Palm Trees, Popsicles, Pineapples – oh my!

Of all the recurring themes at Creativation 2017, this was the one I saw most – and I’m not mad about it! It may have been chilly and rainy in Phoenix, but in the Convention Center, things were warming up with lots of summery, warm paper collections.

Amy Tan:  The Amy Tan On A Whim collection featured adorable notebooks, puffy embellishments and patterned papers all with a tropical feel. Her paper flower backdrop was a frequent stop of Creativation selfies.

damask2

damask3.jpg

My Minds Eye: MME is a personal favorite of mine and their “Palm Beach” collection is probably why I love them so much! Flamingo paper, palm leaf notecards and foiled pineapples – there’s nothing NOT to love.

damask4.jpg

damask5.jpg

DecoArt: Even though they’re known for paints, DecoArt had several touches of paradise throughout their booth at Creativation. Their stencils featured plenty of tropical vibes. How beautiful is this tray created with a palm leaf stencil?

damask6.jpg

EchoPark: If you’re yearning for summertime, take a peek at the Echo Park “Summer Dreams” Collection. Popsicles, bikinis and of course a few flip flops complete this perfect theme.

damask7.jpg

damask8.jpg

Silhouette: The folks at Silhouette paid special homage to tropical temps with a full display featuring flamingos and the CUTEST donuts-turned-pineapples.

damask9.jpg

Sweet SugarBelle: Who knew that cookie decorating could be so mesmerizing! I spent more than a few minutes at the Sweet SugarBelle booth, where she decorated cookies, showing up how a candy corn cookie can also be decorated to look like a watermelon! Genius and perfect for any time of year – including summertime.

damask10.jpg

Planner-Mania

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that planners were in attendance at this year’s Creativation Show. Several companies launched planner dies, papers and tools. Let’s take a look! Me and My Big Ideas: This company is known for creating beautiful, practical calendars with their expandable disc-bound system. This year they showcased their wide selection of planner stickers, Pocket Pages, die cuts and more!

damask11.jpg

We R Memory Keepers: There’s a new tool in town for all your planner lovers! The We R Memory Keepers Planner Punch Board let’s you easily create custom planner pages and inserts with your favorite papers. Punch holes for any size or style of planner up to 12 inches, including basic holes, spiral bound, and disc bound.

damask12.jpg

Sizzix: With coloring stickers, Thinlets dies and more, Sizzix added some great products to the world of planner-ing (is that even a word?!)

damask13.jpg

Webster’s Pages: If you are a planner and a lover of bright, bold colors, Webster’s Pages has everything you need! They’re lineup of colorful spiral planners stopped me right in my tracks! I think I want the teal and pink floral pattern! Or maybe the bright yellow? What about you?

damask14.jpg

damask15.jpg

For the Love of Layering

And last but not least is a trend that took me a bit my surprise: layering stamps! Several companies launched stamps that layer beautifully to create dimensional images without adding any bulk to your cards. Let’s take a peek at two of my favorites!

Hero Arts: I wish you could have seen these in person! They are amazing…but I must say, the croissant has a special place in my carb-loving heart! With these stamps, you can add such “WOW” to your paper crafting and they’ve done all the hard work for you. All you have to do is stamp.
damask16.jpg

damask17.jpg

Waffle Flower: When it comes to layering stamps, I was most impressed by the incredible “marble” stamp set offered by Waffle Flower Stamps. With it you can create the look of marbling on your card! So smart!

damask18.jpg

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little tour through a few of the trends at Creativation 2017. Which trend is your favorite?!

One thought on “Top 3 Trends from Creativation 2017

Leave a Reply

