Meet the Faculty: Meet John Creighton Petersen


Registration for Creativation University is open! Over the past several weeks, we’ve introduced you to some of our workshop teachers and seminar speakers so you can learn what to expect from taking their live classes in Phoenix this January.

This week, meet John Creighton Petersen!

jason

Read our interview with John to get to know him and more about his three Creativation workshops: W226: Everyday Crafting; W503: Technique Transformation; and W303: Relics and Artifacts Shrine.

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m a lifelong resident of Seattle, Washington with a degree in photography. My knowledge of a variety of art mediums, including painting, calligraphy, journal and book making, collaging, beading, resin jewelry making, soldering and metalworking, has dubbed me a “Mixed Media Fusion” artist. My passion for teaching keeps me on the road several months throughout the year, sharing my knowledge and techniques with others. I’ve been an educator and designer for many high profile companies in the craft industry, including Prima Marketing, Imagine Crafts/Tsukineko, “The ICE Prince” with ICE Resin, and Authentique Paper, and an ambassador for RELICS & ARTIFACTS.

In a few words, tell us about the education session you’re teaching at Creativation.

I will be teaching three workshops at Creativation.

In two of these workshops, I will be representing Imagine Crafts/Tsukineko. We’ll explore a variety of new and innovative ways to use Tsukineko’s inks and Imagine Crafts’s products, including making your own t-shirts and other DIY projects. And of course I’ll introduce you to new products!

The other class that I will be teaching has been talked about for a couple of years and is finally going to happen – I will be teaching alongside my dear friend and amazing mixed media artist Debby Anderson! This is going to be a truly amazing class incorporating both of our styles and techniques using the RELICS & ARTIFACTS line of products from Sandra Evertson, who will also be making an appearance in class!

Who and why should someone attend your session?

I always design my classes to be approachable for any skill level. I often take more complex projects and try to translate them into finished pieces that you can be proud of while showing new techniques and how to use products. It’s this hands-on experience that allows you to share this knowledge with your own students and customers.

What are you looking forward to the most at Creativation in Phoenix?

I always look forward to attending this show every year – meeting new people and of course catching up with familiar faces. Whenever I attend this show, I’m filled with the creative energy that can only be found when surrounded by so much inspiration and I always head home excited to start new projects with renewed energy!

What do you love most about your job?

I love being able to share my knowledge with others.  I often say that my role as an educator is like that of a tool box. My job is to show you how to successfully use those tools to create works of art! Many students are apprehensive about working in mixed media, especially for the first time. I try to create a learning environment that promotes creativity and experimentation and I am always surprised by what students create!

What do you love most about the creative industry?

I have been in this industry for over 15 years and have developed many deep, long lasting relationships. This industry is quite unique – there are not many industries that foster creativity, celebrate new and innovative ideas, and give individuals the freedom to be themselves and a platform to express that. We are an industry that supports one another and is continually evolving, and we should all be proud of how truly special it is that we all have the opportunity to be part of this!

Register for John’s workshops and our other education sessions and events at Creativation!

Get inspired by visiting John’s website where you can find his teaching schedule, tutorials and blog. Follow him through social media channels via the “artnewwave”.

Leave a Reply

