Meet the instructor – Tammy Tutterow


Registration for the 2016 CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show is open! Over the next several weeks, we’ll be introducing you to some of our workshop instructors so you can hear about their live classes and what you can expect to learn from them.

This week, we meet Tammy Tutterow of Tammy Tutterow Designs!

tutterow
All buyers are invited to register for Tammy’s workshop, Made From Scratch Mini Album, to learn how to make a fun mixed media mini album, using fabric and chipboard, with interactive page elements and pockets, using pocket inserts and ephemera! Register for her workshop before online registration closes on January 3, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. EST!

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I live in southern Illinois just outside of St. Louis, MO. I live in a little yellow 1923 bungalow with my husband, who is a police officer, our daughter Emma, and our Boston Terrier Cracker Jack. I love to garden, and shop for antiques and vintage treasures.

How many years have you participated in the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

I think I have been participating for about 10 years! I have attended in so many capacities, too! I have been as a small online store owner, a teacher, an employee of an exhibiting manufacturer, and now as a product designer!

What is your favorite part of the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

I love to walk the Show and see all of the new products! As a creative person, it feels like Christmas time seeing so many things I want to have and create with. I also love working in a booth and visiting with store owners from around the world. It is so amazing hearing about what is working in their stores, and what types of creative projects and classes their customers are enjoying.

How would you describe a live workshop at the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show to someone who has never attended before?

Workshops at the CHA MEGA Show are such a great opportunity to learn from manufacturers and experienced educators. It is the perfect opportunity to get products in your hands to try them before committing to buying them. You get to learn tips and marketing ideas. Also, it is a chance for store owners to get to be the student and create, something they don’t get to do often while running their stores.

Why should buyers and creative professionals take your workshop?

As an instructor, I always try to present a creative project that incorporates techniques. I love to give people “tools” that they can use again in other projects. For me it isn’t about copying a sample project, it’s about learning new things.

What is the best advice you can offer about attending the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show, whether someone is attending for the first time or is an industry veteran?

Bring comfy shoes! You are going to be on your feet a lot and you don’t want your feet to give out on you. I bring a different pair for each day of the Show. I choose comfort over fashion so that I can keep going all day long!

What do you love most about the creative industry?

I love the feeling of community. I travel and teach. With each store I visit I hear customers share how much of a social hub their local store has become for them. I love that the people in our industry can come together, share their common interests in creating, and form long lasting friendships.

Where do you see the creative industry in five years?

More and more, I see people just creating and shedding labels. They aren’t just card makers or scrapbookers; they are branching out and trying new mediums and new surfaces. I hope that people will continue to experiment and be willing to grow in their creativity.

Register to take Made From Scratch Mini Album and our other CHA MEGA Conference programs before they sell out! Stay tuned on the CHA blog next week when we will meet Julia Benben of Chameleon Pens.

 

Leave a Reply

