Meet the Instructor – Sharon Sowell


Registration for the 2016 CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show is open! Over the next several weeks, we’ll be introducing you to some of our workshop instructors so you can hear about their live classes and what you can expect to learn from them.

This week, we meet Sizzix Designer Sharyn Sowell!

sowell

Take her workshop, Sizzix Designer Showcase, to get a first, fun look at the newest products from Sharyn and her fellow Sizzix Designers Tim Holtz, Jen Long and Lori Whitlock! Plus, you’ll receive a special FREE V.I.P. swag bag loaded with Sizzix products! Register for her workshop before online registration closes on January 3, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. EST!

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My favorite manicure is ink-stained fingers. When I travel I usually pack two outfits and a suitcase jammed with scissors, sketchbooks, inks, brushes, and a ridiculous number of pencils.

The light in my studio burns into the wee small hours because I forget to notice what time it is. Creativity is so energizing.

I’m thrilled to partner with some of the very best manufacturers to marry my art with their products. When I count my blessings the list is endless.

How many years have you participated in the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

I can’t even remember when I went to my first CHA; it was that long ago! But every year seems better than the one before. Not only have I had the joy of seeing my designs featured on products from the best manufacturers in the industry, but I get to “ooh and aah” over new products all over the Show floor!

What is your favorite part of the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

Best of all is getting to see my art come alive as product! It’s so wonderful to see people enjoying and crafting with what my scissors, brushes and inks began. Wandering the Show floor and getting to explore all the creative goodness in the form of crafting materials is like a shopping trip in the most amazing artsy shop on earth. It’s where I find the tools to fuel and inspire my further creativity as an artist and a designer.

How would you describe a live workshop at the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show to someone who has never attended before?

Imagine sitting down with your newest group of friends – the most creative and gifted designers in our industry – to laugh, connect and craft together. That’s a live workshop!

I hope you will be attending my workshop because I’d love to meet and share my secret crafting tips with you!

Why should buyers and creative professionals take your workshop?

It’ll be a lot of fun! Yet, the real reason a buyer should attend is – bottom line – it will help you sell more product. I love the joy of crafting together, but the fact is that knowing more about the designer, the way they use the materials in ways that are fresh and different (and the fact that you’re rubbing shoulders with the top artists in the industry), will give you an edge and improve your sales figures.

How does your workshop relate to emerging trends and the current state of the creative industry?

Crafters want to feel like THEY designed the projects, and they want them to look absolutely fantastic. They want every dime they spend to bring more value to their crafting stash. This workshop will show you how to achieve that.

What do you love most about the creative industry?

I love being a maker. This industry offers me the tools I can use to leap in any creative direction I choose. There is a whole world of possibility in something as simple as a bottle of ink or pair of scissors. How could anything be more exciting than that?

Where do you see the creative industry in five years?

I’m not at all certain where this industry will go, but I know for sure that consumers will always be looking for the next wonderful tool to enhance their own individual creative journey. Manufacturers and distributors that offer the tools that appeal to a consumer’s “gotta see what I can do with THAT!” mindset will never lack an audience.

Register to take Sizzix Designer Showcase and our other CHA MEGA Conference programs before they sell out! Stay tuned on the CHA blog later this week when we will meet Tammy Tutterow of Tammy Tutterow Designs.

 

Leave a Reply

