Meet the Instructor – Tracy Weinzapfel


Registration for the 2016 CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show is open! Over the next several weeks, we’ll be introducing you to some of our Workshop instructors so you can hear about their live classes and what you can expect to learn from them.

This week, we meet Tracy Weinzapfel. Her Workshop, DecoArt Americana Artist: Wood Art Panel, will empower you with techniques for mixed media projects using DecoArt’s newest products on wood, canvas, art journals or other surfaces. Learn more about Tracy and what you’ll take away from her Workshop below!

tw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Hi, I am Tracy Weinzapfel, the Education Coordinator for DecoArt, Inc. I am proud to be part of such a great company doing what I love! I am a published multi-medium artist who enjoys sharing my passion with others! I have a unique and personal approach to education and my classes are fun to be in (or so I have been told!). My work and art studio have been featured in multiple publications.  You can find out more about me and my work at www.tracyweinzapfelstudios.com.

How many years have you participated in the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

I have been participating in the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show since before it was the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show! I have over 10 years of trade show experience in the arts and crafts industry! (I know, hard to believe since I look so young!)

What is your favorite part of the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

My favorite part of the Show is being part of a team and networking. The Show is a great opportunity to meet your retailers, fellow manufacturers and artists who come together for the good of the industry.

How would you describe a live workshop at the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show to someone who has never attended before?

I try to make all of my workshops technique based and product informative. I want people to leave feeling like they can and will use the products they see at the Show.

Why should buyers and creative professionals take your workshop?

Product knowledge and FUN are the name of the game in my workshop. I want everyone to feel that I was personally engaging and answered any and all questions. I love when people walk away saying they can do what we did when they get home and incorporate the products we used in their stores, studios and homes!

How does your workshop relate to emerging trends and the current state of the creative industry?

I am fortunate to work with some of the latest and greatest releases from DecoArt and other partnering companies. CHA is a chance to play with products before they even hit the stores!

What is the best advice you can offer about attending the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show, whether someone is attending for the first time or is an industry veteran?

Network, be open to new techniques and take every booth/workshop as an opportunity to learn. Even if you have seen the products, there may be new ways to incorporate them in your business.

What do you love most about the creative industry?

The people! I am fortunate to work with people I love and who genuinely have a sense of team at DecoArt, Inc. It is hard work, but so worth it for the paths you cross in this creative industry.

Where do you see the creative industry in five years?

That is hard to predict as I will be sipping a margarita on a beach with a paint brush and canvas………..

What do you love most about CHA membership?

Seeing the latest and greatest products! It is exciting and never gets old when I go to each and every trade show that I am lucky enough to be a part of!

Register to take DecoArt Americana Artist: Wood Art Panel and our other CHA MEGA Conference programs before they sell out! Stay tuned on the CHA blog next week when we meet Cathy Andronicou of Chameleon Pens!

decoart

Leave a Reply

