Meet the Instructor – Wendy Watson


Registration for the 2016 CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show is open! Over the next several weeks, we’ll be introducing you to some of our Workshop instructors so you can hear about their live classes and what you can expect to learn from them.

watsonThis week, we meet Wendy Watson, owner of Wendy’s Red Door Painting Studio and Collectibles and Board President of the Society of Decorative Painters. Take Wendy’s Workshop, Look At My Rooster, to experience the perfect painting party that can be redesigned for your customers. You will learn how to create multiple values and shading with a wet-on-wet technique.

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I have been involved in art in one way or another for most of my life. Yet, there was a point when I realized that I hadn’t learned the “how to” skills necessary to achieve the desired end products. I discovered the Society of Decorative Painters in 1986 and have been a member ever since. Through the Society and its teaching methods, I finally found creative satisfaction. Whether you are a beginner painter or an advance painter, the Society has something to offer you too.

How many years have you participated in the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

I am a new convert! This will be my third year.

What is your favorite part of the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show?

I love seeing how new and traditional creative products can be used. I love being around creative people. It really helps motivate me to try new methods and products.

How would you describe a live workshop at the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show to someone who has never attended before?

Most creative people learn best by sight.  The CHA MEGA Show workshops give you a unique opportunity to learn from some of the best in their field. No training is wasted, even if you take away only one small gem from each instructor.

Why should buyers and creative professionals take your workshop?

My workshop is designed for the non-painter and will teach you some of the basics. You will leave with a better understanding of why so many consumers have a great interest in painting!

How does your workshop relate to emerging trends and the current state of the creative industry?

Painting parties have sprung up all over the United States and are attended by all ages. My Workshop design was created with that in mind.

What is the best advice you can offer about attending the CHA MEGA Conference & Trade Show, whether someone is attending for the first time or is an industry veteran?

As creative people, we require stimulus for continued growth. You may be an artist who has never used paper products in your work or a business professional who has never heard that one idea that could save your business. What better motivation is there than attending a Show filled with product and business ideas? You owe it to yourself and your business to take this opportunity for growth.

What do you love most about the creative industry?

Tough question! Too many things come to mind. If I had to narrow it down, I’d have to say it is the creative people and process that I love best.

Where do you see the creative industry in five years?

As more Baby Boomers retire, they are looking for the creative outlet they had to put aside to earn a living. Most of my new painting students are retirees. I also see millennials and younger generations becoming more interested in recreating the creative ways of traditional crafts, making them their own.

What do you love most about CHA membership?

I am a newbie! I love that there is a trade organization that is there to help build and maintain the creative industries.

Register to take Look At My Rooster and our other CHA MEGA Conference programs before they sell out! Stay tuned on the CHA blog this Thursday when we meet Gail Green of Gail Green Licensing & Design!

Leave a Reply

