More from the CHA Paper Arts Show Exhibit Hall and Crafty Inspiration!


This afternoon at the CHA 2014 Paper Arts Show has been one of learning for me. Many of the vendors have make-n-takes set up and scheduled at different times in the exhibit hall. Who knew it would be such a learning experience?

I noticed that DecoArt had some displayed projects pertaining to Gelli plating. It’s a growing trend and one that I’ve wanted to learn more about for some time now.

20140729_180746

Lucky for me, Alison Craig from DecoArt was all set up to teach and I was a willing student. She showed me the technique involved and the ability to create layer upon layer, even taking basic every day tools (such as the cap of a sharpie marker) to draw into the paint on your gelli plate.

20140730_102223

The DecoArt paints come in so many fabulous colors. I was really loving the bright orange.

20140730_132434She also added some metallic liquid inks to the mix for even more drama and flair. I can’t wait to get home and try this technique for myself.

20140730_132436

I also had the opportunity to sit down with the incredible Fran Seiford, designer for Stampendous. She is so quirky and fun to be around.

20140730_134543I learned another new process, which is heat embossing with embossing mixes consisting of glitter and embossing powder, but no ink is required to adhere.

20140730_134900I couldn’t believe how easy this was! Actually, according to Fran, this process is an old one but has had a bit of a resurgence.

20140729_181233Here’s a few more pictures of some of the booths.

20140729_181343 20140730_092233 20140730_091756 20140730_111851 20140729_181302There is so much knowledge contained in this room amongst everyone from the industry. I am so blessed to be a part of it and thankful for the chance to learn from all of the tips, tricks and techniques that I’ve seen so far.

I’ll have more tomorrow about tonight’s events. Thanks for tuning in!

– Terri

7 thoughts on “More from the CHA Paper Arts Show Exhibit Hall and Crafty Inspiration!

  1. First you need sturdy paper for this process, not thin, flimsy paper. Place the heat tool a couple inches underneath your paper and heat the mix of glitter and embossing powder. Fran even mixed in a little mica for fun. You’ll want to hold the paper with a clip so you don’t burn your fingers. Just took about a minute or so. The embossing powder melts and holds the glitter in place. The paper didn’t wilt. So cool!

  2. Yes…..so many enquiring minds need to know how to emboss without anything for it to adhere to. I know heating blobs from the other side of the paper……

Leave a Reply

