Paige The Intern Goes To The Summer Show!


The Summer Show in Rosemont, Illinois was everything I expected and more! I loved every second. I was in awe walking around the show floor gawking at all the beautiful displays, products, and booths. Everyone says the Winter Show is three times the size of the Summer Show, but I just can’t fathom it!

I got to meet some really great people from all across the country, in all areas of the industry. It was interesting to talk to them about their business, their story, and what they thought of the show.

I even got to meet some of my favorite craft celebs!

Cathie Filian. Talk about the nicest lady you have ever met. Her and Steve were at the Mod Podge booth everyday doing make and takes with attendees, and talking to people. I really miss good ol’ fashion craft shows like Creative Juice, so I loved dropping in to say hello.

Tim Holtz. I refer to him as the mac daddy of crafts. Tim also was in his booth everyday, and while sitting and talking to him I discovered how involved he is with his booth. Design, set up, placement, he is there for the whole shebang. I think his involvement contributes to his success, while his unique style brings a different perspective to the scene.

Kristine McKay. Kristine started off doing segments on my local news channel in Utah a few years back. I have followed her ever since and now she is working with My Craft Channel. She was really friendly and fun to talk to about Utah.

My favorite part of the show was the competitions! The Next Iron Crafter, an event where participants had to make a craft in less than 10 minutes, were a blast! The hosts did a great job interacting with the crowd and each challenge got more and more interesting. The last challenge included CHA staff members, and of course I won! Bragging rights, the best prize you can get.

I decided to highlight my favorite products and booths I saw at the show, so here it is..

PAIGE THE INTERN’S FAVORITES OF THE 2012 SUMMER SHOW!!
(Pause for applause)

FAVORITE PRODUCTS

MOST INNOVATIVE PRODUCT: Fix n’ Zip! This was a booth I wasn’t expecting to see at the show, but they manufacture zipper pulls to replace broken ones. I have a bad history of zipper problems and thought this was genius. Plus they were really nice to chat with.

PRETTIEST NEW PAPER LINE: I couldn’t decide, so there are two! Basic Grey Lucille line and Graphic 45’s Bird Song line. Both of these lines grabbed my interest with vintage floral designs.  Basic Grey’s Lucille line has an adorable corresponding dress garland where the collars fold down giving some added dimension!

OVERALL FAVORITE PRODUCT: Impress Art Metal Stamping Alphabets! I’m a big fan of the stamped jewelry craze happening right now, so when I saw this kit my wheels started to turn. I would love to make a few charm necklaces.

FAVORITE BOOTHS
The booths were all so visually appealing! You can tell a lot of creativity and thought goes into each and every one. Here is a list of my favorites:

BEST THEME: Graphic 45! Their booth was beautifully decorated, and they dressed up each day to match one of their paper lines. For their Bird Song line (that received my Prettiest Paper Line award) they wore Kimonos!

BIGGEST BANG: Die Cuts With A View! They definitely had the most extravagant and largest booth. The cool thing was it was Halloween-themed, and this display was the first thing to greet you as you entered the showroom floor.

BEST OVERALL PRESENTATION: Drumroll please…..

DOODLEBUG! I loved their “Doodlebug Color Lab” theme. It was simple, with great use of color, and the “lab techs” wore their lab jackets. Great job Doodlebug!

Overall, I had a great time at the show and was really impressed with everyone’s booths and displays. I even got a glimpse of downtown Chicago! Here are a few more photos

This was the playhouse from Craft Wars that was raffled off!


Me and Andrej, the CEO of CHA!


Happy crafting!

Become an official CHA Blog Guest Blogger!

The CHA Blog is currently seeking guest bloggers and blog posts. Any CHA member can submit a post! Basically, a blog post consists of either a video or photo of an event or experience and a short blurb. We want you to tell your story: what current trends do we need to know about? What is the one thing you look forward to the most at CHA shows? What crafty community service project are you involved with? If you’re interested, please submit your post idea, blog post, name and contact information to jbaum@craftandhobby.org.

All guest blog posts are the sole responsibility of the authors. They do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of the Craft & Hobby Association (CHA), its staff members, sponsors or exhibitors. The inclusion of a link or reference does not imply the endorsement of the linked site by the Craft & Hobby Association (CHA).

2 thoughts on “Paige The Intern Goes To The Summer Show!

Leave a Reply

