CHA Guest Blogger: Drew Emborsky aka the Crochet Dude


Comments from CHA Guest Blogger – the Crochet Dude!  Thanks Drew for your comments…

Wow, the CHA Craft SuperShow is coming up fast! When I joined CHA a couple of years ago as a freelance designer I had a hunch that if there were a place in the industry where I could find opportunities it would be there. I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

My first CHA trade show was essentially wandering around a massive playground of every craft item imaginable. I would turn a corner and oops, there’s Martha Stewart, or oops, there’s Jane Seymour, or oops, there’s Vickie Howell. Repeat a variation of that scenario each day of the show and that describes my introduction to CHA trade shows. To overuse an overused cliché, I was a kid in a candy store.

As my own career developed I found that the craft industry is full of amazing people who are eager to mentor a newbie like me. I was invited to sit and socialize with people that have their own shows on HGTV, or a run a major yarn company, or publish a magazine. What the what? I’m a big fan of mentoring and I appreciate any nuggets of wisdom the members of CHA have given me (whether they knew that’s what they were doing or not). A lot of my conversations have ended with “Drew, I know who you should meet, come on I will introduce you…”

Fast forward to now. Last fall I licensed my brand The Crochet Dude® to Simplicity Creative Group the makers of Boye® brand crochet and knit accessories (among a bazillion other items) and have developed a line of crochet tools and kits that are being distributed nationwide this fall. We launched the products at the CHA trade show back in January and I couldn’t be happier with the exposure and success of that show.

Coming up this week I am going to be appearing at the CHA Craft SuperShow in Chicago and I’m very excited. I haven’t been to one of CHA’s consumer shows and I’ve heard that they are simply amazing. I will have a display of my products and I will be meeting and greeting in the Simplicity booth #924 throughout the show.

Also you can find me in the Craft Yarn Council Booth #517 on Friday, July 30th at 2:00pm and 6:00pm and on Saturday, July 31st at 11:00am and 3:00pm, where we will be making crocheted jewelry!

Makes me wonder who I’ll run into this year…

Drew Emborsky, aka The Crochet Dude® crafts and blogs from his studio in Houston, TX. Find out more at his website www.thecrochetdude.com

Leave a Reply

